Federica Di Girolamo | Master in Finance (M1) | Cergy campus

Previous studies:
Bachelor’s  in Economics and Finance, University of Bologna (Italy)

Spoken languages:
Italian, English & French


My name is Federica, I am 22 years old and I’m from Italy. I graduated from the University of Bologna with a Bachelor’s degree in Economics and Finance and I’m currently in the first year of the Master in Finance 2-year program at ESSEC.
I grew up in a small town in the center of Italy where there aren’t many opportunities for young people but in response to this, I decided to pave my own path. As a student willing to pursue my interest for Finance, I moved to Bologna where I was exposed to a vibrant, diverse environment which allowed me to solidify my commitment to values that I hold dear: integration, inclusivity, and diversity. This became even more evident during the months that I spent living in Amsterdam for the Erasmus project where I met people from all over the world and I loved discovering new cultures while sharing mine.
I arrived here at ESSEC only two months ago, yet I already feel at home. The international setting together with the diversity and high level of intellectual engagement among the students has allowed me to meet amazing people and make stimulating friendships in a cooperative environment. Here, conversations at breaks range from discussing the latest IPO news in the Financial Times to choosing the pub to go grab a beer on the weekend.
Matching academic effort with sociality is fundamental for me as I’ve always enjoyed interacting with people from all ages while actively participating in the social community since I was very young. I became the school representative at the young municipal council of my hometown when I was only ten and I won the elections as students’ representative when I was in the fourth year of high school. The leadership role that I played in both the experiences consisted in acting as an intermediary between young and adults and what I enjoyed the most was the fact that my peers saw me as somebody to rely on, able to listen to them and report their singular voices.
In my free time I’m a violin player. Thanks to my experiences in this field, I learnt that commitment, sacrifice and constancy are fundamental to reach any objective. Furthermore, the study of a musical instrument both as a soloist and in orchestral ensembles taught me discipline and allowed me to develop the skills to work in a group while making amazing experiences abroad and meeting people with diverse backgrounds.

Contact me!

  • By completing this form, you consent to the processing of your personal data by ESSEC for the purpose of communication in the context of the recruitment of new students.
  • You may withdraw your consent at any time by sending an email to the ESSEC Data Protection Officer ([email protected]).
  • Data is communicated to the following recipients: ESSEC's Recruitment Department and Marketo (processor).
  • The data will not be used for automated decision making or profiling.
  • Data is kept for 3 years after our last contact.
  • Data may be transferred to a third country (United States), the details of which are available from the Data Protection Officer [email protected].
  • For more information on how your data is processed by ESSEC, your rights and how to exercise them, please consult our data privacy policy.
Follow us